Quick Search

Advanced Search Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card

Would you like to purchase a Gift Card?

Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate

A Dual Inheritance

Price: 7.29 USD



Additional Images

Product Details

Author Name: Hershon, Joanna

Binding: Paperback

Book Condition: Fair

Publisher U.S.A. BALLANTINE BOOKS 2014

ISBN Number 0345468481 / 9780345468482

Seller ID 089908

For readers of "Rules of Civility" and "The Marriage Plot, " Joanna Hershon's "A Dual Inheritance" is an engrossing novel of passion, friendship, betrayal, and class--and their reverberations across generations.
Autumn 1962: Ed Cantowitz and Hugh Shipley meet in their final year at Harvard. Ed is far removed from Hugh's privileged upbringing as a Boston Brahmin, yet his drive and ambition outpace Hugh's ambivalence about his own life. These two young men form an unlikely friendship, bolstered by a fierce shared desire to transcend their circumstances. But in just a few short years, not only do their paths diverge--one rising on Wall Street, the other becoming a kind of global humanitarian--but their friendship ends abruptly, with only one of them understanding why.
Can a friendship define your view of the world? Spanning from the Cuban Missile Crisis to the present-day stock market collapse, with locations as diverse as Dar es Salaam, Boston, Shenzhen, and Fishers Island, "A""Dual Inheritance" asks this question, as it follows not only these two men, but the complicated women in their vastly different lives. And as Ed and Hugh grow farther and farther apart, they remain uniquely--even surprisingly--connected.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
"A big, captivating sweep of a romance . . . a searching exploration of class and destiny in late-twentieth-century America."--Jennifer Egan
"The best book about male friendship written this young century."--"Details"
" "
" A] warm, smart, enjoyably complex novel . . . Both Hugh and Ed are lonely searchers . . . and Hershon's] skill in rendering each of them as flawed individuals is what makes the novel so readable and so rich. . . . "A Dual Inheritance" is an old-fashioned social novel that feels fresh because of its deft, clear-eyed approach to still-unspoken rules about ethnicity, money and identity."--"San Francisco Chronicle"
" "
"An absorbing, fully-realized novel . . . Hershon] renders the book's many locales with a nuanced appreciation for the way environment emerges out of the confluence of physical detail and social experience. . . . "A Dual Inheritance" never lets its readers forget they are reading a well-crafted novel, and as a well-crafted novel, it fully satisfies."--"The Boston Globe"
"This marvelous novel is a mix of heartache and history. . . . Think of Anne Tyler and Tom Wolfe, both."--Victor LaValle, author of "The Devil in Silver"
" An] engrossing saga."--"Vogue"
" "
"Hershon artfully guides us through the lives of Ed and Hugh, college buddies who meet at Harvard in the '60s, shifting between their perspectives through adulthood to detail their lingering impact on one another's lives in such a way that it'll make you take a second look at all of your relationships."--"GQ"
" "
"Let this story of two Harvard men's unexpected friendship and its sudden end transport you through time (beginning on Harvard's campus in 1962) and place."--"The Huffington Post"
"A richly composed . . . portrait of familial gravity and the wobbly orbits that bring us together again and again."--"Kirkus Reviews"

Product Reviews

Submit A Review

Your Name:


A Dual Inheritance: A Novel, Joanna Hershon  (Author)
Stock Image

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to
Copyright©2016. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by